Photo Editing

I am really trying to learn as much about editing photos as possible. I have Photoshop Elements 8 and in the summer I beta tested Lightroom 3. Once the beta expired I had to purchase it since I found I couldn’t live without it. I had recently started shooting exclusively in RAW and loved editing with LR3. I am reading the Scott Kelby books both on LR3 and PSE8, plus tons of tutorials on the web.

Here is a photo I have been playing around with a bit. It is from a camping trip this summer with college friends and I snapped this shot of a friend and his son fishing in the bay. I adjusted exposure, white balance and sharpness in LR3, cropped and ran a vintage action and a sunflare action through it in PSE8. I guess flares are not for everyone but I think it really adds something to this picture.

Here is the original…

One edit I did with a vintage look and sun flare…this one is my hubby’s favourite version. I think I am going to enter this one in the Pioneer Woman’s favourite photo assignment which is going on now.

Here’s another version which is my personal favourite, I like the way the flare turned out in this one.

So much more to learn…but having a lot of fun doing it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Photo Editing

  1. Mads says:

    I’m starting to learn about photo editing myself. Good luck in PW’s contest!

    I’m using Picasa3 from Google. Do I need to switch over to something like Lightroom 3?
    I like how some of the pictures come out, but I always feel like I could be doing more with other programs.

    • I would recommend going to the Adobe web site and downloading the free 30 day trial version of Lightroom 3 and trying it out. That way you can see how you like it and if it is working for you. Adobe offers free 30 day trials of all the software including Photoshop Elements and CS5 (full photoshop). I tried CS5 and realized I really didn’t need a lot of the different features offered between it and elements for the type of editing I do. I use LR3 mostly to crop, adjust exposure, white balance, temperature, sharpening and noise reduction. Photoshop Elments is a great program as well and you may find it is all you need. It is about a 1/3 the cost of LR3 at $99. You can find lots of great free online actions to use with it as well.

      • Mads says:

        Thanks for the info. I will download the trial version, although 99 bucks seems closer to my price range 🙂

        Picasa seems to do ok with basic fixes, but it would be wonderful to have more features at my fingertips.

Leave a Reply

