My First Ever Recipe Post….and maybe my last.

Last night I was sitting on the couch with my Canadian Living magazine. My son was sitting next to me playing Lego Harry Potter on the Wii and a small ham was in the oven for dinner. Earlier in the day, when at the super market, I had picked up the makings of my favourite left over ham dish Potato Florentine Soup in the crock pot for today. I stumbled across a new recipe in the magazine Ham, Cheese and Spinach Strata and I figured why not? I had the ham, the cheese, the eggs and I just needed a few other ingredients which my hubby agreed to pick up on his way home for lunch.

So after lunch I began preparing the recipe. And in the spirit of The Pioneer Woman Cooks, I thought I would picture post the recipe steps like she does on her blog. So I began….

First I washed, dried and chopped some spinach leaves. Then I sauted them in a little olive oil with some chopped garlic.

Then I cubed up some sour dough bread in about 1 inch cubes.

Now some of our more sensitive readers may want to look away due to the graphic nature of this picture.
A beautiful loaf of sour dough bread was harmed during the making of this recipe. This is due to the fact that I have the most useless knives. The only real bread knife I have is for right handed people and I am a lefty. I need a decent bread knife!

Now while your moochy beagle watches in hopes that some will fall on the floor, grate up some swiss cheese. I grated more than the recipe called for, I used 1 cup. Can never have enough swiss! Unless you don’t like swiss, then use another cheese.

Also chop up 3 green onions and you will need some chopped cooked ham (3/4 cup). Get some milk (1 1/4 cup) and some Dijon (1.5 tsp) and 4 eggs.

Now, in a bowl that is way to small, mix up the bread, cheese, ham and onions together. Remember the bowl must be too small so that you can make a mess while you mix and actually need to mix with your hands instead of a spoon.

Now in the bowl you should have used to mix the bread mixture, beat together the eggs, milk and dijon.

Now while your beagle still looks on….

Pour the bread mixture into a greased 8×8-2L pan.

Next pour the egg mixture over this. Cover and refrigerate for at least 20min and up to 24 hrs. Mine is going in the fridge for about 3 hrs.

Stay tuned for my next post. I will let you know how it turns out. I will also let you know if it was worth the mess and dirty dishes I made in my kitchen.


Two things you can learn about me from this picture. 1) I love to leave the cabinet doors open and B) I am short and need the kitchen chair to reach things on the high shelf.

For the full recipe click here.

Friday Oct 29 -Just a quick edit to say this recipe is not a keeper. I have a couple of different strata and strata type recipes that were much better than this.  I will post more and some pictures of the cooked strata on the weekend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My First Ever Recipe Post….and maybe my last.

  1. Mads says:

    Lefties unite!!

    I always always use bowls that are too small for the occasion. Must be some sort of right-minded disability…

Leave a Reply

